Thursday, January 28, 2010

'SEI donates engraved Walk of Honor Commemorative Sidewalk Brick

July 4, 2006: 11 Students of the SEI paying tribute to Dr. Feldman (AMF) at Cape Canaveral

The months of January, February and April remind us of the worst disasters of manned spaceflight. The International Space Education Institute (SEI) would like to remember and commemorate these events and the sacrifice of those involved:

January 28, 1967
3 Astronauts Gus Grissom, Edward White and Roger Chaffee lost in the Apollo 1 ground fire

April 24, 1967
Loss of Cosmonaut Komarov in crash of Soyuz 1

January 28, 1986
Space Shuttle Challenger Explosion during early ascent of STS-51L taking the lives of 7 astronauts including schoolteacher Christa McAuliffe of today's Challenger School in Tamarac, FL (near Miami)
Lost: Francis R. Scobee, Michael J. Smith, Judith A. Resnik, Ellison S. Onizuka, Ronald E. McNair, Gregory B. Jarvis, Christa McAuliffe

February 1, 2003
Space Shuttle Columbia (STS-107) lost during re-entry break-up killing 7 astronauts including Israeli Ilan Ramon
Lost: Kalpana Chawla, Commander Rick Husband, Michael Anderson, David Brown, Laurel Clark, Pilot William McCool, Ilan Ramon

The SEI presented the first Certificate of Condolences from Germany to the Astronaut Memorial Foundation (AMF) at Cape Canaveral in 2005. The AMF manages funding used to commemorate those who gave their lives in the pursuit of spaceflight. The AMF currently maintains active relations with the Challenger School in Tamarac, FL near Miami. This is the school today from which Christa McAuliffe (lost in the Space Shuttle Challenger explosion January 28, 1986) taught. The SEI presented the Certificate of Condolences to AMF Director Dr. Feldman on Independence Day, July 4, 2006.

SEI at the Challenger School in Tamarac, FL (near Miami)

Cosma Heckel (age 2) at the AMF office near the Apollo 1 memorials

The SEI is now an honorary member of the Foundation. Yvonne and Ralf Heckel (and family) have donated as well by purchasing a "Walk of Honor" memorial engraved Sidewalk Brick. Engraved on this brick is "Ralf, Yvonne and Cosma Heckel".

This year their Institute has donated again to the "Walk of Honor" in its 5th year of international space education dedication. This stone will be ready when thier students again visits NASA while visiting the US for the spring 2010 running of the Great Annual Moonbuggy Race (held in Huntsville, AL).

The new brick's engraved inscription reads:


Anyone interested can also donate and immortalize themselves in supporting the AMF. The AMF maintains its own education center for students and promotes the international Space Education.
SEI also reciprocates this support and encourages others to assist AMF by donating $75 in exchange for a brick added to the Walk of Honor.

Spacewalk of Honor:

Donors Ask:

No comments:

Post a Comment